Mezzo-soprano A whistles? Or G?

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
Darwin
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Mezzo-soprano A whistles? Or G?

Post by Darwin »

Sorry to stray from politics, science, and religion :P, but I'd like to get opinions on whatever mid-range A (vs. super-low A) whistles members here are familiar with. I think I'm pretty well set in the high D area for now, and I'm thinking about my next aquisition.

I'm mostly interested in something for slow airs, and I think that I may prefer not to go with wood at the moment if it might require more care than metal and plastic, but I'm open to being told that this isn't really a problem.

As a beginner, I'm interested in ease of play and evenness of tone/volume across both octaves.

At the moment, I'm attracted by the Burke Aluminum Pro (#ALA). Does anyone have any comments on this one in particular? (All the Pro models have the Delrin mouthpieces, don't they?)

And, how about that one vs. the composite version (#ALC)?

Are there any that should probably be totally avoided by a beginner?

I've seen a few favorable comments about mezzo-soprano G whistles, too. Would G have any particular advantages over A in terms of either sound or--in case it ever happens--of playing with other instruments?
Mike Wright

"When an idea is wanting, a word can always be found to take its place."
 --Goethe
Byll
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Long ago, I was told that I faked iTrad whistle work very well. I took that comment to heart. 20 years of private lessons - and many, many hours of rehearsal later - I certainly hope I have improved...

Post by Byll »