"Music Trancends Words"

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
Brus
antispam: No

"Music Trancends Words"

Post by Brus »

(TEARJERKER WARNING)

Difficult to believe there can be so much emotion in a commercial advertisement - this is for Tosando Music of Japan:

https://soranews24.com/2014/04/15/touch ... nce-again/

Arigato, Tosando ...
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum viditur. (Anything is more impressive if you say it in Latin)
PB+J
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: "Music Trancends Words"

Post by PB+J »

I didn’t watch it, because everything that isn’t words transcend words. Words are never the things they describe. Music is no different from anything: sport transcends words, food transcends words, cement work transcends words. It’s unfair to beat up on words for not being things
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Post by Nanohedron »

I watched it. It was poignant. I think I'm more analytical than emotional, though, because I tend to be immune to the tearjerker aspect, and this too was no exception. But my dry eyes notwithstanding, it was quite moving, all the same.
PB+J wrote:It’s unfair to beat up on words for not being things
Words are not things? :wink:
"If you take music out of this world, you will have nothing but a ball of fire." - Tribal musician
bwat
Tell us something.: Woodwind and brass player. Interested in jazz and folk music. I'm here for the flute discussions. I really can't think of anything else to report and I have to pad this out to at least 1000 characters.

Post by bwat »