New Laptop- Win or Mac?

Socializing and general posts on wide-ranging topics. Remember, it's Poststructural!
rh
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

New Laptop- Win or Mac?

Post by rh »

Shopping for new laptop. Windows or Mac?
My bare-bones Windows machine is nearing the end of its useful life. I've been using Windows for the last three years, so I have some useful stuff invested in it (like Scrivener, for example). But I've been using mainly Apple machines since 1996. I've had some issues with them, mainly the cords, which wear out quickly, and of course they are pricey. Should I go back? One of the things I miss is the foreign language input - CJK and Arabic are easy on Macs and I've never been able to figure out how to do them on Windows, but that is probably more my ignorance of the operating system than anything. And of course Garage Band is a bit of fun.
Any opinions?
there is no end to the walking
megapop

Re: New Laptop- Win or Mac?

Post by megapop »

I'd suggest to get a Windows machine and install a Linux on it. This way you have the security and reliability of a Unix(-like) OS, but without those nasty Apple restrictions and prices. Plus, you can simply keep Windows on a separate partition if you like.
return null;
dyersituations

Post by dyersituations »

While I'm a big proponent of Linux, I wouldn't recommend it unless the user was fairly tech savvy. I don't know the tech experience of the OP, but I thought I would mention that. Ubuntu is extremely user friendly these days, but I have often found Windows and Mac OS to be more stable for everyday use.

Windows vs Mac OS is really up to personal preference and what applications you want to us. Some people love a particular application that is on one platform or another. I personally prefer Mac OS because I enjoy Unix, but I mostly use Windows due to work and gaming related reasons.