Sliding into a Cross Fingered Cnat

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Sliding into a Cross Fingered Cnat

Post by Mikethebook »

I've been learning to play Waterman's from a slowed down video of John McSherry in concert with At First Light, a great video because of its close up view. http://www.kerrywhistles.com/movie.php?groupID=13#. At a couple of points in the tune (one at 54min 4sec) John slides from B to Cnat and it looks like he makes the slide using both the half-holed Cnat and the cross fingered OXXOOO arriving at the latter as he lifts his first finger away. The slide is clearly heard in the tune and an important part of it but I can't get his effect merely with the half-holed Cnat. Any idea what he's doing or how one does this. It's not clear enough to me.
Mr.Gumby

Re: Sliding into a Cross Fingered Cnat

Post by Mr.Gumby »

Simply a 'piper's C'.
My brain hurts

Mikethebook
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Post by Mikethebook »