Narrow bore Goldies

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Narrow bore Goldies

Post by AngelicBeaver »

Do they sound nicer than the standard bore, with the drawback that they are quieter than the standard bore? Colin isn't making the standard bore Low C at the moment, and I'm wondering what the trade-offs are for anyone who's tried them. I was also noticing he has a narrow bore E. Does he do this when he isn't happy with the way the standard bore sounds, but makes them anyway because some people need the volume?
Nathaniel James Dowell
ecohawk
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: Narrow bore Goldies

Post by ecohawk »

Uhhh. No disrespect intended at all and please forgive how snarky this may sound but why don't you ask Colin? He and Brigitte are generally very responsive. I can say that my narrow bore alto G is quite a bit quieter than my standard bore.

I can't begin to answer your other questions as to why Colin makes these.

ecohawk
"Never get one of those cheap tin whistles. It leads to much harder drugs like pipes and flutes." - anon
Cayden
Tell us something.: I play high and low whistle with Traditional Irish Music being my focus of interest. I love Irish music and consider it as a direct connection to my Irish heritage. I enjoy participation in whistle tours, chatting with other players, and learning much from the many talented folks that frequent C & F.

Post by Cayden »