John Bell in Germany

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Claus von Weiss
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

John Bell in Germany

Post by Claus von Weiss »

Well, I'm rather excited, as John Bell from the Iona Community this weekend is gonna be in Germany for the very first time. And what's best, on Saturday and Sunday we're gonna join him performing with "Planxties & Airs".

I'm really looking forward to meeting the man indeed! :D

Cheers
Claus
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Re: John Bell in Germany

Post by Mikethebook »

Pardon my ignorance but what is the connection netween John Bell and whistles?
Feadoggie

Post by Feadoggie »

Not to steal anyone's thunder, but I would imagine Claus's having the opportunity to play with Bell is the whistle connection.

Cool beans, as they say.
I've proven who I am so many times, the magnetic strips worn thin.
Claus von Weiss

Quite rightly so, Feadoggie! :thumbsup:

"Planxties & Airs", that's my wife and me playing the church organ (my wife obviously) and the whiste (your's truly of course).

If you wanna hear, what that sounds like: http://www.planxties-airs.de/beispiele.htm

And we feel quite honoured indeed to be invited to share the stage (or rather the church) with John Bell. :D

Cheers
Claus (rather connected to the whistle :lol: )
MTGuru
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by MTGuru »