Arpeggio Notes for Phil Hardy Tutorial

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Hakai
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Arpeggio Notes for Phil Hardy Tutorial

Post by Hakai »

I am a rank newbie trying to learn from Phil Hardy's tutorials at the Kerry Whistles site. I've done ok up to the point of the Arpeggios Crossing The Octaves tutorial, at which I am unable to follow which notes I am to play, particularly in the second half (following E). I would appreciate anyone willing to identify them for me, and/or another arpeggio pattern for a similar exercise across the octaves. His is particularly pleasing.

Thank you!
Jleo Fipple
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Arpeggio Notes for Phil Hardy Tutorial

Post by Jleo Fipple »

Hakai wrote:I am a rank newbie trying to learn from Phil Hardy's tutorials at the Kerry Whistles site. I've done ok up to the point of the Arpeggios Crossing The Octaves tutorial, at which I am unable to follow which notes I am to play, particularly in the second half (following E). I would appreciate anyone willing to identify them for me, and/or another arpeggio pattern for a similar exercise across the octaves. His is particularly pleasing.

Thank you!
Hi there Hakai,

I've bookmarked this excellent resource, thank you for bringing my attention to the free lesson on KERRYWHISTLE.COM these lesson are really well produced and useful for any beginning whistler. The addition of Low D lessons is a great bonus and should interest a lot of beginners new to the low D whistle, looking to see Low D playing technique and hearing how wonderful the Low D whistle can be even during in practice. :D

Your query regarding the arpeggio's used in "Lesson 6" I'll do my best to cast some light on this for you. Below I have listed the arpeggio's with the higher note (octave) encased in the upright beams.

1st arpeggio D G B G |D| G B G
2nd Arpeggio E G C G |E| G C G