What age to start teaching a child

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
brownja
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by brownja »

Hello All,
I have a young son (3). At what age can/should I start teaching him the whistle?
Also, I'm still a beginner myself. Is it detrimental to his musical sensiblities to hear me practice badly? IOW, should I only let him hear good whistle playing?
Regards,
jb
DrGiggles

Post by DrGiggles »

Now is just as good a time as any... Children learn very quickly when they're young - especially if they're having fun with it.

As far as hearing only good players - I'd have to ask: why? Most people play the whistle because it's fun. It's definitely something a parent/child can definitely share. Just keep it fun, and they'll keep coming back.

While it's said that perfect practice makes perfect; I say perfect practice all the time is boring... Just have fun with it, let them have fun with it and enjoy the process... And always take the time to smell the roses.

My 2 cents,
Frank
Bretton
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistle for a very long time, but never seem to get any better than I was about 10 years ago. I'm okay with that. :)

Post by Bretton »

I've been attempting to teach my daughter to play whistle since she was about 3 yrs. old. She's 5-2/3 now and just starting to get the hang of it. At 3 her attention span wasn't really long enough to do anything but blow piercing 3rd octave C#s. :smile:
John Allison

Post by John Allison »