Hello for test!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Chino
antispam: No

Hello for test!

Post by Chino »

Hello,

I'm a french low-whistle player, and it's my first post on this great forum.

Actually (and surpringsly!) I don't play Irish music or even "celtic" music at all: I played a bit when I begun (15 years ago), but I play Blues, Funk and improvised music. Well, I try to! :D

I listen to blues, blues-rock, soul, funk, rock, jazz, traditional music (especially indian and pakistanian music, west african music and flamenco) and classical occidental music. I I rarely listen to "celtic" music now, but I listen sometimes breton music (I live in Britanny), and in irish music, I love Paddy Keenan.

So why did I choose to play whistle? Because when I've begun, I was a poor student without money, so the only instrument I could buy was a brass Generation D whistle. Then, I bought a Bb one, and I bought afterwards an Howard Low D etc etc etc. But I'm very bad ITM player! :oops:

Now, I've got several low-whistles: 7 Overton made by Colin Goldie (from A to Bariton Bb), a Brass Low D made by Michael Copeland, a Pat O'Riordan Low G and a Low G Susato.

This forum is very interesting, thanks for all the fantastic work.

All the best,

Francois
mutepointe
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Hello for test!

Post by mutepointe »

Welcome. I don't play irish or celtic or any kind of that stuff either. Well, I did accidently play Danny Boy once. I just like the sounds of the instruments. And the instruments are a heck of a lot cheaper. That's for sure.
Rose tint my world. Keep me safe from my trouble and pain.
白飞梦
pipersgrip
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by pipersgrip »

Welcome to the madhouse Francois. It looks like you are in the boat that a lot of us are in. I hope you enjoy your new home.
"In prayer, it is better to have a heart without words, than words without a heart." John Bunyan
Chino