Hello

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
I'm With Stupid
antispam: No

Hello

Post by I'm With Stupid »

Hmm, there doesn't appear to be anywhere obvious to say hello, so I guess I'll do it here. I'm a complete beginner to music in general (never got past playing the Rugrats and Terminator theme tunes on the piano), and I wanted something that was portable and cheap, rather than spending hundreds on an instrument and giving up. So anyway, I've just ordered myself one of the Dixon whistles (high D in nickel), so I should be getting started whenever it appears. In the meantime, I guess I'll just read a bit and watch some more Youtube videos. This performance by Pat Tierney was what convinced me to give it a shot more than anything else. I just hope I can get past the terrible squeaky phase for now. And if this goes well, I have my sights on a Chinese flute.
Whistler Bard
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: Hello

Post by Whistler Bard »

Be very welcome to the Chiff & Fipple! I hope you have fun around here, you'll see that there are lots of people around here that are keen to help you with your way on the Whistle World.

It was a great choice of an instrument, let me tell you!

Feel free to roam around...crazyness and knowledge are all around!

Cheers!
chris_coreline

Post by chris_coreline »

Dixon whistles (high D in nickel),

good choice, a stalwart axe for the beginner to the professionsal.
SteveShaw
Location: Beautiful, beautiful north Cornwall. The Doom Bar is on me.

Post by SteveShaw »

I'm With Stupid wrote:I'm a complete beginner to music in general (never got past playing the Rugrats and Terminator theme tunes on the piano), and I wanted something that was portable and cheap, rather than spending hundreds on an instrument and giving up. So anyway, I've just ordered myself one of the Dixon whistles (high D in nickel), so I should be getting started whenever it appears.