three cheers for Tony Dixon

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Blaine McArthur
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Blaine McArthur »

We may as well get the discussion about Tony Dixon whistles into its own thread.

At the moment the only Tony Dixon I have is a Low F. I am relatively new to the whistle scene, so I can not provide any credible commentary on it other than to say I like it alot!

(I went with the Low F based on Dale's advice about making the move from Soprano whistle to the Low whistle a little eaier. I adjusted to the longer stretch and the piper grip in no time at all. Thanks Dale.)

Anyway, having played the Low F for about 3 or 4 months now, I think I am ready to move up to a Low D, and I will probably go with the Tony Dixon again (Low D duo).

I have a Tony Dixon tunable Soprano D piccolo on order, and expect to receive it today or tomorrow.

I might note here that the Whistle Shop also now carries Tony Dixon whistles; at least the Soprano D, tunable and non-tunable and the Low D in tunable, non-tunable and "dual head" versions.

Blaine
DrGiggles

Post by DrGiggles »

Actually, it was Thom at the Whistle Shop that introduced me to the Dixon. I mentioned how much I love the Susato, and he recommended that I get a Dixon. Since getting the Dixon, the Susato's been sitting in my Desk drawer. In fact, I'm expecting my "spare" Dixon to be delivered on Monday or Tuesday next week.

I'm thinking about getting the low D Duo. However, I play with Drummers, and other instruments and my Chieftain Low D gets blown away (without a mic - with a microphone it really sounds cool). With the Whistle, fife, and piccolo, I can hold my own in the 2nd and 3rd octaves.

Fiber - Man's best Friend!
-Frank
Blaine McArthur

Now I get it - I did not connect Thom and the Whistle Shop..... (Now I do)