Jigs, Reels etc....What Makes them So??

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Lori Peters
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Lori Peters »

Hi everyone,

I know this might seem like a stupid question...and it's one I should know (or maybe not, I studied piano for 9 years)...but what EXACTLY is the difference between jigs, reels, and aires??

Would it be the time signature, the key, etc?? The only reason I'm asking is because I truly want to know :smile: All I know is piano logic....I can do sonatas, etudes and adagios LOL!
Ron Rowe

Post by Ron Rowe »

Someone will correct me if I'm wrong but with the exception of aires all Irish and Scottish music is dance music, the music is for the different types of dances, thus you see jigs, reels (a highland dance), polkas ect. The time signature plays a big part I think in what sets the different types of dance tunes apart but also where the emphasis is placed. For example a hornpipe and a polka might both be in 4/4 but where the emphasis is placed is quite different giving you two distinctly different rythms. Does that make sense or did I confuse you more?
LeeMarsh
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by LeeMarsh »

Lori,
Below is review of a book by Chris Smith. It has the best explanations of what makes celtic music celtic. It not only explains the forms to a certain extent it allow has excellent exercise for learning to hear the things he discusses in the book.
<hr>
<b>Review: Celtic Back-Up for all Instrumentalists by Chris Smith.</b> <br>
Published by Mel Bay and includes Compact disk.<br><hr>
<br>
This is the first tutor I've seen on playing Irish music by ear. IMHO, A book that should be on every beginning session player's must read book: a tutorial, a guide, and a reference.<br>
<br><blockquote>