New, trying to find THE ONE

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Lori Peters
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Lori Peters »

Hi everyone,

I haven't posted at this board before, so I thought I'd just say hi,
I started playing about 6 years ago on a Generation D, and loved it. It got lost and died horribly under our washing machine. So I just received a new Walton D today. All I can say is...either I've lost lung capacity, or this is NOT the whistle for me! It's far too breathy for my liking, and high D is murder attaining....
I'm expecting a Susato soon (only because of the fancy engraving), but am seriously considering another whistle that will be my main love.
I'm looking for bright and clear, easily reached upper levels, not breathy and not murder on my lungs.
I've had a Clarke in the past...far too breathy for my liking and the fipple came out within days...any advice?? Thanks!
Brian Lee
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Brian Lee »

Hi Lori!

Welcome back. :smile: If I were you, I'd look into a Hoover, Dixon, Oak or Generation before I got a Susato. They can be murder as far as breath requirements go, especialy in the second octaves. The hoover is one of the most balanced whistles I've played, very mellow and smooth accross both octaves. The Dixon's I've played have a little bit more 'chirp' to them. Oaks and Gen's are more classic in their tone and for me have the most life in their sound. The downside of these last two is that they're not as forgiving as the first two are for squeaks and squaks.

I don't know if this helps you much, but hopefully, it's a start!

Slán

Brian~
raindog1970
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Post by raindog1970 »

Of all my many whistles, none is more beloved than my Burke aluminum.
I have a special place in my heart for my Silkstone, Water Weasel and Dixon as well.