questions needed answering!!!!!!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
andy
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by andy »

Hello, as a new whistler i have some questions that id loved answered if thats OK.

1) What do u guys think of Howard low D whistles??? Are they good for someone who is looking at a purchase that might last them for a few years, without having to upgrade. (if u do that on whistle?)

2) I have found out today, that where i live we have a folk night, where anyone can get up and play. Is it considered poor form to take sheeet music up on stage for this kind of music???? I dont know?????

3) As a bassist i perform regularly on weekends, however as a hopefully potential whistler, would u recommemd learning another instrument such as the guitar to help imrove the chance of getting hired by a band. It seems that many people that perform the Irish/Celtic style music often play several instruments. Is whistle good enough on its own???
Thank u for any feedback
Regards Andy
Blarney Pilgrim

Post by Blarney Pilgrim »

Read the Chiff & Fipple review of the Howard on the Low D part of the web site. It really has a unique sound. The holes are huge. Maybe that is why I have difficulty playing anything fast on it. The Howard is tunable by moving the mouthpiece, but it tends to slip on its own. A number of people on this board also report clogging problems. I much perfer my Tony Dixon. <br> As to your other questions, my opinion is play the instrument(s) you enjoy. If you can't find a band in need of a whistle player, start your own. I did! <br> Happy whistling,<br> Steve
rich
i see what you did there

Post by rich »