High C recommendations

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Hauke
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm an old folkie, play some instruments and made some own things, like different genres and play scottish and Irish music for over 30 years.

High C recommendations

Post by Hauke »

There's a difference, of course, between high D and high C. A wonderful D doesn't mean automatically the high C from the same brand is as good as the D.
Anyone has experiences especially with wonderful balanced high C?
Thanks so much.
ceilidhdog

Re: High C recommendations

Post by ceilidhdog »

I love my Jerry Freeman tweaked high C. I'm no expert, but the whistle is nicely balanced in both octaves, and is a joy to play. FWIW. :)
Hauke
Tell us something.: I'm an old folkie, play some instruments and made some own things, like different genres and play scottish and Irish music for over 30 years.

Post by Hauke »

Thanks ceilidhdog.
I'm going to look for it.
😊
Narzog
Tell us something.: Can play several instruments at an unimpressive level. Currently most interested in whistling with a side of acoustic guitar.

Post by Narzog »

I have a brass Reyburn high C/D set. The C is excellent. The high D is a bit too loud. The C is less piercing, while still having a good bell note. A lot of whistles the C body may overblow too easily. But because the Reyburn D takes a good push the C actually feels perfect. Its definitely not cheap tho.
Hauke

Post by Hauke »

Narzog, that's a really good thing. I looked for it before. But with your experience I'll take a closer look.
Thank you.
😀
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Post by fatmac »

I've been very happy with my Tony Dixon aluminium Duo, (whistle & flute heads), quite mellow, & not too loud.
Keith.
Trying to do justice to my various musical instruments.
Hauke

Post by Hauke »

Thanks fatmac.