Bass low C Whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
TheSinger
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been playing whistles for many years, and figured it was time for me to join the forum. I’ve learned much from reading here, and would like to join the party

Bass low C Whistle

Post by TheSinger »

Which low C do you play, and why? And if you've had others you don't play anymore, why not? :)
Narzog
Tell us something.: Can play several instruments at an unimpressive level. Currently most interested in whistling with a side of acoustic guitar.

Re: Bass low C Whistle

Post by Narzog »

Only played one by a less known maker that I was my least favorite whistle I've ever played by a large margin. Was a big bore that used a ton of air, but also overblew insanely easily, had no low end that was insanely quiet, but was still really loud in the high end, and needed insane breath control to play anything remotely fast without it flipping octaves. Not saying the maker because I dont want to trash on his reputation, hes prob made improvements and better whistles than this one. I got this one used on ebay for a really good deal, so it could have been an older model.

Many low C's seem to have a reputation for overblowing a bit easily. Which makes sense. Most of them are just low D's with longer tubes, which is going to overblow easier. So unless its something like a Goldie which had a really strong low end as a low d, the low C will be a bit weak.

From my research Alba seem to be the 'strongest', or close to, low end low C. big bore, takes more push, stiffer high end.