Comparing a Goldie low D and a MKPro low D

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
TheSinger
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been playing whistles for many years, and figured it was time for me to join the forum. I’ve learned much from reading here, and would like to join the party

Comparing a Goldie low D and a MKPro low D

Post by TheSinger »

I'm writing this review for primarily three reasons. A: Sort out my own head. 2: Hopefully help someone else on the same quest. 3: Get insight from others with the same dilemma. I know it's been written about many times on the forum, but I know that the Goldie models are being developed by Colin non stop, and I'm guessing the same for Misha.
A few things before I get started on my points: : I haven't used any tuners, decibel devices etc. It's just me, my ears, my piano, and my experiences playing the whistles at rehearsals and giggs. I know that hard facts might be interesting to some, but for me the life experiences of volume and tuning is more impoortant than numbers. I'm a professional musician, and all though I might not be the best whistler, I use the whistle in professional contexts, such as recording studios. I've had the MK a couple of months longer than the Goldie, but know them both pretty well. Obviously, this review is based æn my personal experiences, and subjective opinions.
And lastly before we begin: I love both whistles, so this is not a "which one is worst"-review. I have high regards for the work, dedication and craftmanship of both Colin Goldie and Misha Somerville.. Ok, let's dive in!
Physical appearance.