Upgrade whistle purchase?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
LynnB
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Upgrade whistle purchase?

Post by LynnB »

So I’ve been playing off and on for a few years a now, just for fun, no interest in really playing with others or anything like that. Pretty much all the whistles I play regularly are tweaked Freemans, in a couple different keys. I’m especially partial to my Mellow Dog set and my tweaked Bb. I do have two Susatos (a low G and D) but I don’t really like the Susato tone at all, and I find the low D difficult even with pipers grip. I also have a Parks in C and some untweaked Clarks I don’t use much. I don’t particularly need a new whistle, but when has that made anyone with WhOAD stop? I’m just curious what you guys would consider an “upgrade” from what I have now? I’ve been looking at Killarney and Lir (though I’ve read about a lot of people having CS issues with the latter and that’s mostly scared me off.)

What brands/makers are considered mid-range vs. high end? Which ones would provide a different experience compared to what I have now? I plan to eventually get a MK low whistle, but I’m trying to slow down the spending since I just went on a Native American Flute spree, so probably putting that off until Christmas. I’d like to limit myself to around the $100-$150 USD range for an “upgraded” D or C whistle. What would you consider the least shrill and suitable for home playing where a quieter whistle is welcome?

I’m sure there is probably a thread devoted to this but I’m having trouble finding one.
RoberTunes
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a flute, guitar, keyboard + whistle player learning about quality whistles, musical possibilities and playing techniques. I've recorded a CD of my own music and am creating music for kids.

Re: Upgrade whistle purchase?

Post by RoberTunes »