Styles of Playing

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Styles of Playing

Post by Mikethebook »

I'm currently working through Volume 2 of Mary Bergin's tutorial set and really enjoying it. But I happened to look through Oaim's tutorials and they have a new course out on the Doolin/Clare style by Christy Barry. It got me to thinking about styles of playing and how they differ. For example, what is Mary's style and what characterises it? And how would it be different from the Doolin style?

And, is there anywhere I can read about different styles, maybe in one of Grey Larsen's books?
Mr.Gumby

Re: Styles of Playing

Post by Mr.Gumby »

Generalising about regional styles can be a bit of a perilous exercise as it assumes all players in a particular area playing at least a similar style. I wouldn't like to speculate on 'Doolin' style, John Killouhry, Micho & Gussie Russell or what has developed playing sessions for the pubs over the past forty years or so? They'r not exactly the same thing.

The older North Clare style is perhaps characterised by a rhythmic, sparsely ornamented style of playing: Micho & Gussie, John Killourhy, Pappy Looney, Jimmy Hogan, Paddy 'Organ' Mullins etc etc., centered around Kilfenora (and its band), Doolin, Ennistymon.