James Dominic Music UPVC low whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
emmdee

James Dominic Music UPVC low whistles

Post by emmdee »

Hi All

Looking for advice, please. A friend has just emailed me to ask if I'd any experience of James Dominic Music's UPVC low whistles. Personally, I've never heard of them. A quick search here doesn't throw anything up. There's a website, but there's only so much you can learn from a website. My friend is looking for a low whistle that doesn't break the bank. These seem to be around £50.

Has anyone tried one/owned one, can anyone recommend them (or not!)? If so, I'd love to hear from you.

Thanks
m.d.
RLindner
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistle for 2 years now and I'm always looking for new instruments.

Cheers and greetings from Germany

Re: James Dominic Music UPVC low whistles

Post by RLindner »

There is a review on Youtube by a well known whistle lady called "CutiePie".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TsIcxh ... l=CutiePie

Greetings from Germany,
Rainer
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »

Thanks for the link, which in the way of YouTube led to another review as well.

It's impossible to know how a whistle plays from hearing somebody else play it, but it's apparent that the whistle is a decent player, which is amazing given the price-point.

There's long been a need for a very low-cost entry-level Low D and perhaps this is it.

BTW the construction of the head is uncannily similar to the early Susatos, which were machined out of PVC stock, and had a wooden block.
Richard Cook
c1980 Quinn uilleann pipes
1945 Starck Highland pipes
Goldie Low D whistle
Alaskamike