Help choosing a new whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Jiyuuko
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hello, I started playing the tin whistle for about a year now and I didn't know about this forum. I'm interested in learning more about the music and instruments and reading about other's experience in it.

Help choosing a new whistle

Post by Jiyuuko »

I didn't know this forum existed and I was suggested to ask this here.

I have a Clarke Sweetone high D whistle, and while I love how easy it is to reach the second octove, I don't like the raspy sound it makes and I think mine is getting out of tune. I've been wanting to buy a new one for while now, unfortunally I can find tin whistles anywhere in my country, so I have to buy them online from other countries which make then a lot more expensive for me, so I've been saving money for it. Right now I can't buy anything above 120 dolars. I really REALLY wanted to buy the new Carbony low D with close spacing but that's way too expensive for me.

ANyway after a bit of research two whistles that are easy to find and a lot people said were good was the Dixon DX005 and the Killarney whistles. The killarney is right up my limit, so I wanted to know if it's worthy or not. I got a new high D last year and I hate it because its super heavi and big and I have to put too much air in it to reach the second octave. So I rather pay more for a good whistle than pay less and end up with another one like that. IN the case of the KIllarney whistles, is there a diference between the brass and nickel?

WHat do you guys suggest? Other people recommended me other whistles but I couldnt find them in official stores to buy, or when I did find them in places like ebay and amazon, the shipping price was nearly the same price as the product.
Last edited by Jiyuuko on Wed Jan 27, 2021 7:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mr.Gumby