It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:36 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:33 pm 

Hi all,

I'm currently considering a McManus Bb whistle. I've found a few videos online of different Bb varieties that he makes but I'd be curious if anyone who owns any McManus Bb whistles (or has at least played them) can help answer some questions and/or just provide some general thoughts. (Don't feel the need to have to answer all 8 ... whatever input you can give would be great)

(1) How would you compare the loudness of your McManus Bb whistle to say, a Generation Bb? I'm not a professional and will probably mostly be playing in my apartment, so a quieter whistle is probably preferable if possible but it's not the end of the world if it's a bit louder.

(2) How would you rate the amount of air required to play? Personally I like the amount of air required by the Generation as I never feel I'm running out of breath (very much unlike my Clarke Original which always leaves me gasping for air)

(3) Does the whistle produce a clear and/or strong bell note that is easy to play without jumping to the 2nd octave Bb? On my Generation Bb I'm having a lot of issues with the bell note. I find that it doesn't sound particularly clear and pure as there is a certain buzzing undertone and graininess to it that doesn't seem to quite exist for the other notes on the whistle. Also it's quite easy to have it inadvertently jump to the second octave which makes it challenging to hit the bell note properly, particularly in faster passages. (There is a chance that my specific Generation Bb may be a dud. I ordered a new one which will be arriving shortly so I'll know then ...)

(4) How well balanced is the volume between the two (main) octaves? I know that it's hard to avoid the whistle getting louder in the 2nd octave but a whistle where the volume differential is not too large would be preferable.