Killarney-like alto?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
WhistleTunes
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi! I’ve been a trad musician most of my life on the highland pipes. Been playing whistles and flute for about a year now.

Killarney-like alto?

Post by WhistleTunes »

I’ve fallen in love with Killarney whistles, but my understanding is they don’t have plans to extend their range downward below Bb at this point. Is anyone aware of an alto G and A whistles that play like Killarneys? Very air efficient and sweeter tone.

Thanks!
MadmanWithaWhistle
Tell us something.: Instrument maker and researcher exploring new methods of creating traditional instruments with longevity aforethought. Player of the whistle, flute, and continental European border pipes.

Re: Killarney-like alto?

Post by MadmanWithaWhistle »

Perhaps Tony Dixon's work? I've been doing a lot of researching and experimenting as I expand the range of keys I offer, and I'm stopping at Bb as well - some of the factors that make my high whistles so good simply don't scale in any kind of attractive way once you get down that low.
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Post by fatmac »

I have a Thunderbird 'A', Tony Dixon trad brass 'A' & 'G', an aluminium 'A', & an ABS 'G', they have become some of my favourite whistles, (along with my 2 low 'F' whistles).
Keith.
Trying to do justice to my various musical instruments.
busterbill

Post by busterbill »

You can get a Sindt A and Bb that will be superior in my humble opinion. He is still taking orders. He did not make a G at last count. But you could always ask.
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »