Questions about intro vs pro and how to choose.

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
deenyo
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'd love to join so I can ask questions about Tin Whistles. I've enjoyed being able to read the forum but would now like to be able to contribute and ask questions. Thanks!

Questions about intro vs pro and how to choose.

Post by deenyo »

Hello!

I am brand new to this forum so forgive if I'm asking the same questions that have been asked a hundred times. Did a bit of a scan and it seemed best to post my own so I don't hijack anyone elses topic.

I am a musician, I have a degree in music on clarinet/bass clarinet and low clarinets. I am recently rediscovering Irish music as an adult and am feeling quite drawn to the whistle.

I have a Walton in "D" and a Clarke original in "D" that have been lying around the house for as long as I can remember that I decided to pick up for my first real go at it, but I am really have some issues and I cannot tell if it's me being new or the instrument being less than ideal.

With the Walton I feel like it's easy to blow into but really out of tune and a bit shrill. The Clarke is very breathy and perhaps a bit too free blowing, and while I like the softer tone I feel like playing it is a marathon, I am constantly running out of air, and I already have a good set of lungs very used to playing wind instruments. I can make them both sound decent enough but the amount of work that I'm putting into it really seems counter productive to my goals of learning the songs, and if I can remove that barrier by buying a better whistle I will.