What's the polka in Cotter's famous 'tutor'?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Potoroo
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Coming back to playing low D whistle at the age of 73, wondering how tough I need to be on relearning piper's grip.

What's the polka in Cotter's famous 'tutor'?

Post by Potoroo »

Newbie here. Hello! [Friendly wave]

A friend is working her way through chapter 2 of Geraldine Cotter's Traditional Irish Tin Whistle Tutor. Neither she nor I know the name of the polka on page 11. Ms Cotter doesn't name it. Anyone able to assist please?

Cheers,
Potoroo
Mr.Gumby

Re: What's the polka in Cotter's famous 'tutor'?

Post by Mr.Gumby »

How does it go?
My brain hurts

Maddie
Tell us something.: My musical interests include soprano, alto, tenor & bass recorders, 12-hole alto C ocarina, and high D tin whistle.

Post by Maddie »

Waving back to Potoroo ~~~~~~~~~. Welcome to the forum.

I don't have that book, but I checked the "Look Inside" feature on Amazon. That tune is Egan's Polka. It's on page 74 in The Bill Ochs Tin Whistle Handbook. Ryan Duns shares the sheet music on his blog, with his teaching video: http://tinwhistler.blogspot.com/2007/11 ... three.html
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »

AKA 'The Kerry Polka'. There used to be a sign in the window of Hillery's of Miltown Malbay, warning musicians who attempted to play the tune would be subject to immediate eviction.

Both names are fully arbitrary, arguably. Some would call it the faba faba polka. One of the other polkas Duns gives there, Ryan's, is called the 'dum dum polka' by some musicians (although I seem to remember the original recording that exposed most of us to it called it the '40 pound float').

A lot, perhaps most, polkas don't really have name but are referred to by where they came from, either a location or player.
My brain hurts

Potoroo