Conical Bore Low D Whistles?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Conical Bore Low D Whistles?

Post by AngelicBeaver »

There's something nice about conical bore whistles, but the design is far less commonly found compared to their cylindrical brethren. I just received a Dixon conical bore low D, and I'm about to get a Carbony Low D (thanks Pat!), and I'm interested in what other conical bore makers are out there. I'm still assembling my ultimate high D collection for my video, and so I'll have to sell off some of those to make financial headroom for the next batch, but I'm thinking I'd like to attempt a conical bore low D video next.

So I'm aware of the following:

Carbony (acquired)
Copeland
Onyx
Dixon (acquired)
Shaw

Currently, it seems to be a small group. I'm particularly interested in metal or synthetic material whistles. I'm not certain if I want to add any of the wooden makers, but if one comes up, I might include it. I'm assuming the Copeland will be the toughest one to find. If anyone has one of these in a drawer somewhere, and you're willing to sell it, feel free to PM me.

At one point, I had an Onyx that I'd found used, but I sold it before I started doing these sorts of videos. Interesting tone, though it seems like the second octave E was very sensitive to tonguing.
Nathaniel James Dowell
stiofan
Tell us something.: I've been a C&Fer since 2003. Currently playing wooden flute & (mainly low) whistles, along with the bowed dulcimer.

Re: Conical Bore Low D Whistles?

Post by stiofan »

Chino

Post by Chino »

Yvon Le Coant:

http://www.lecoant.com/articles.php?lng=fr&pg=61