Side blown low whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Side blown low whistle

Post by PB+J »

I've been playing the flute a lot, and neglecting the low whistle. When I go back to it I notice what's always been true: I find the low whistle very hard to hold. The high whistle, no problem, but the low whistle is tough. I know this is not true for everyone, but it's true for me and I'm a big strong guy who can play the double bass for three hour gigs so I feel like I've got strong hands.

The transverse flute gives me no problems at all.

I know that back in the day it was common for flute to be sold with whistle mouthpieces, so you would effectively be playing a side blown fipple flute

Does anyone make a sideblown, transverse low whistle? I know I know, just play the flute, but I find the flute and the whistle to be two distinctive instruments, each with different capabilities.
Mr.Gumby

Re: Side blown low whistle

Post by Mr.Gumby »

My first thought was Hammy's practice flute but then it occurred to me you're probably looking for a whistle with an angled mouth piece rather than a sideblown whistle body with a flute embouchure.

Susato used to make low whistles with angled head but they still weren't transverse instruments as the head wasn't angled to the side. . The early 20th and late 19th century saw some metal whistles with a sideblown mouthpiece but they weren't low whistles as you want them.

Along these lines :

Perhaps a custom job from a maker interested in experimenting?
My brain hurts

PB+J