Looking a Gift Whistle in the Fipple

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Elspeth
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been playing ITM on the whistle for many years and enjoy it immensely. I’d like to be part of the whistle community.

Looking a Gift Whistle in the Fipple

Post by Elspeth »

Okay, this has happened to me now three times. My husband sometimes mentions to his clients that I play the whistle and have played it for many years- and he doesn't hesitate to tell them that he thinks I'm quite good and have a fairly extensive/expensive whistle collection (in the early years he had to leave the house when I started playing). I've subsequently received plastic whistles from his well-meaning clients who've traveled to Ireland (all three were Walton whistle packs with "Learn to Play the Tinwhistle" books included- one had an instructional DVD).

I'm not a whistle snob and still play my SweeTones occasionally - but these are truly terrible whistles. So I thank the givers and then quietly re-gift the packs to friends' kids. This last time, though, we ran into the person and she asked "How do you like the whistle? Is the book helpful?". I was at a loss for words and stammered something about being really busy and haven't yet played it. She looked offended and said - "Oh, well, Ken says you play the whistle for at least an hour every day". I know people mean well but - what do you do? (My husband is a native of Osaka and someone once gave us a book called "Japanese Cooking for Beginners")
Has this happened to anyone and if so how did you - or how would you handle it?
“Amuse Often, Provoke Sometimes, Entertain Always”
Sedi
Tell us something.: Practice, practice, practice. You're never too old to learn.
Keep on fluting.
---u---o-o-o--o-o-o--
-----------------------

Re: Looking a Gift Whistle in the Fipple

Post by Sedi »