Killarney Eb

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Killarney Eb

Post by PB+J »

I had started dabbling in Eb whistles to get some Micho Russel tunes down more easily. I bought a Generation with a poorly fitting head, then another Generation that was better. Then I saw a Killarney Eb on sale and snapped it up.

Once again, it's just a really fine whistle. it's not as loud as the generation but it has a really sweet tone that's more solid but still well in the ballpark of what I think of as a traditional tone.

Here's a very short comparison--the Generation is first, then there's a fumbling pause, then the Killarney. Please forgive me--I've only been playing the whistle for nine months. I just wanted to give a sound comparison

http://spokeshave.net/music/gbjig.mp3
Mr.Gumby

Re: Killarney Eb

Post by Mr.Gumby »

It is a lovely clear and cheerful whistle. I am surprised you think the Gen is the louder one but I haven't really compared them closely, maybe I'll come back to that later.

Well done on Garrett Barry but, if you don't mind me saying, do have a think about the notes you put in the tune.
My brain hurts

PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Post by PB+J »

Mr.Gumby wrote:It is a lovely clear and cheerful whistle. I am surprised you think the Gen is the louder one but I haven't really compared them closely, maybe I'll come back to that later.