Experience with Becker Alto A or G?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
MichaelRS
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm interested in the tin whistle as a hobby. I'm here mainly to get information on the playing qualities of various types of whistles.

Experience with Becker Alto A or G?

Post by MichaelRS »

Like title says, just wondering if anybody has had any personal experience with the Becker alto A or G and what their thoughts were on it/them?
AngelicBeaver
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Re: Experience with Becker Alto A or G?

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I've got the Becker G. If you need to fill gaps in your lineup, inexpensively, you can hardly go wrong with the Becker. Very soft blowing, and fairly quiet, but has a decent, round tone. I think mine was $15. It's not my favorite whistle, but when you factor in the price, it's hard to beat. I think the Freeman was something like $40 when I bought it, and the Reviol was maybe $250 with additional bodies being $75 (I have an A, G, F, E alto set with one head that fits on all of them).

I threw together a comparison video with my three G whistles (Becker, Freeman, and Reviol), just for you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6a8EwM ... e=youtu.be

And here's an older one I did with the Becker and the Carbony E: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUoyrkcS8uI
Nathaniel James Dowell
MichaelRS
Tell us something.: I'm interested in the tin whistle as a hobby. I'm here mainly to get information on the playing qualities of various types of whistles.

Post by MichaelRS »