Alto whistles

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Njr
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a new whistle player with a few questions I'd like to ask to people who know what they're talking about.

Alto whistles

Post by Njr »

Hi all, I have a question about alto whistles I'm hoping someone can answer for me. I'm a novice whistle player who can't read music, I play by tab, and my knowledge of music theory is sketchy at best. It boils down to the fact that I really like the sound of alto whistles in the keys of A and Bb. I've been learning to play simple melodies such as nursery rhymes to get used to the fingering with tunes I know so I can tell if the notes are right, and I do okay. I have a few soprano d whistles typical of beginners which I like, but the alto whistles have a lovely deeper sound without going to far down towards the low d. What I'd like to know is basically if I played a tune on an alto whistle with the same fingering that I use on a d whistle, will the tune come out okay? Would either the A or Bb whistle work better, or both, or neither? I only play for myself and the kids so there's no other instruments to worry about as of yet.

Any advice would be much appreciated,

Njr
piperjoe

Re: Alto whistles

Post by piperjoe »

You're on the right track.

Basically, you finger the whistles the same, and the tune comes out right. But, in a different key.

So, if you're playing by yourself, no problem. If you're playing with someone else, they will have to transpose.

If you have a D whistle, that means that with all the holes covered you're playing a D note. A tune beginning on that note will usually be in the key of D. If you have an A whistle with all the holes covered you're playing an A. A tune starting on that note will usually be in the key of A.