Opinions on Lessons

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Matthewlawson3
antispam: No

Opinions on Lessons

Post by Matthewlawson3 »

What is everyone's opinion on Tin Whistle lessons from the Online Academy of Irish Music or Blayne Chastain's lessons?

I live in East Tennessee and have posted to the teacher forums but have had no response.

I wouldn't call myself a beginner as I've played Tin Whistle off and on for many years and minored in Clarinet Performance in college, but I would like to dig into Penny Whistle performance and get better.
PB+J
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: Opinions on Lessons

Post by PB+J »

I've used the online academy of music extensively, for bodhran, whistle, and flute. It's good: they have a great selection of many songs. The tracks you can slow down are great, the "virtual session" is good craic. But it's not as good as being in the room with a live player teaching you the tune. Also it's slightly annoying that you will often find three versions or even four versions of the tune on the site--the "lesson" version, the sheet music version, the mp3 track version and the 360 degree-in-the-pub-session version. Actually check that you could have FIVE versions, because as I recall a couple are taught on whistle AND flute.

I understand this is the way ITM operates, and one should develop a quick ear and the ability to change tunes as needed, but if you come as beginner it's frustrating. A teacher would give you an authoritative version to learn and build off of, but having multiple versions as a beginner just adds frustration.