HELP ! Newbie Needs Guidance ! :)

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
yankees1
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Just bought a Milligan D whistle. I am new to tin whistles and will need help ! I don't understand why each whistle is in a different key and how a D whistle can play a song in G major ! Which whistle will play a song in A major ? Most songs i will play will be in D, G or A

HELP ! Newbie Needs Guidance ! :)

Post by yankees1 »

I have my whistle ( Killarney) brass D ! With a D whistle I can only play songs in key of D ? I have sheet music "The Old Man" in key of G and the music sheet shows the fingering on the whistle but playing these finger patterns on my D whistle results in a sound that is just not right, so I would need a G whistle to use this song sheet ? Some of the fingering positions sound pretty squeaky when I blow the whistle but I assume it takes a lot of practice to eliminate this squeaky sound ? My whistle has a slide and how do I adjust or use it correctly ? Any help you can give a newbie will be appreciated ! Thank you !
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: HELP ! Newbie Needs Guidance ! :)

Post by PB+J »

The difference is only one note, C natural. You can usually play an in-tune-enough C natural on a D whistle by using the fingering oxx ooo. Or sometimes oxx xox, or oxx oxo. Or you can "half hole" this: xoo ooo, with just half covering the first hole. Half holing in my experience gives the most accurate pitch but I can't do it at any kind of speed. I'm a beginner though
Last edited by PB+J on Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
busterbill

Post by busterbill »