Designing a wood into metal tuning slide

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Matt NQ
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi, I'm new to whistling, been reading the forum for a while, and would like to start getting more involved.

Designing a wood into metal tuning slide

Post by Matt NQ »

I'm currently in the R&D phase of whistle making. A handicap I face is that living in North Queensland, I don't have access to just looking at a lot of whistles, and it's too expensive to buy lots of whistles to investigate various subtle issues.

I have studied this website voraciously and gratefully! I don't think I would be brave enough to start making whistles without the knowledge here.

I'm looking at making wooden whistles with an aluminium sleeve for a tuning slide (not popular I know, but it just appeals to me as you get all the sound enclosed in wood, plus the smooth sliding of metal). The detail I haven't found in searches here on or the internet is, in whistles where wood meets metal in the slide - such as the old Reyburn maple head - what material is used in between?

In my aluminium Chieftain it seems to be teflon tape in the slide, but would that be too thin for a wood/metal combo, given the differential rates of expansion & contraction in response to temperature, moisture and time? Cork would give some leeway, but would it be too grabby compared to teflon? If I use cork, how thick; natural, compounded or rubberised? Is there a significant difference here in managing the sliding and the gap in designs where metal slides into wood (such as the maple head Reyburn), as opposed to the design I'm planning where wood slides into metal?