Do you play in a band? In sessions? By yourself?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Do you play in a band? In sessions? By yourself?

Post by PB+J »

How do most of you play? In a band? At sessions? Solo?

The whole world of the "session" seems to me to be fairly forbidding and clannish--maybe of necessity, you either know the tunes or you don't; you either can play at tempo or you can't. The few sessions I've attended (just listening, not trying to play) have been sort of unwelcoming.

I often think that maybe ITM, for me, is going to be a meditative thing, a solo art, a mental exercise.

I'm a novice at the whistle but have three decades of semi-professional regular gigging in other genres. Sometimes being in a band is great, and sometimes it's like going to the dentist. Driving to gigs and back, hassling with venues, band members flaking out, etc. etc. I've cut back the number of gigs I do to to 2-4 a month, and that's plenty. There aren't a lot of paying opportunities for irish music as far as I can tell, which leaves the session.
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Re: Do you play in a band? In sessions? By yourself?

Post by pancelticpiper »

I certainly can relate to the grind of regular band gigs. I did that years ago, I don't want to do it now.