Sweetening the high end

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Sweetening the high end

Post by PB+J »

I’ve been playing the whistle very steadily since March. So not very long. I have a small but growing tunes I know, or rather practice everyday. Yesterday I started working on “the ten penny bit.” I pr@ctice very slowly at first, with a metronome. It’s relatively easy but man the high end gets very ouchy and piercing. The high B is especially tough to take at low speed.

I have a bunch of different whistles in D ranging from a Killarney to a Cillian O’Briain tweaked and an old Generation from the 1970s, and they all sound pretty shrill. I’ve played the same tune on a low D MK Pro, and on a Bb tweaked by freeman, and they all sound kinda tough on the top notes. i assume it’s even worse for my wife and daughter, since I’m almost 60 and have the typical diminished hi end hearing of a person my age.

Is this me overblowing? Is there an embouchure thing to try? It does seem to get better if I work on backing the air pressure down. I’m also thinking those high notes are typically not sustained for very long, which is a mercy.

In the meantime I can use it to drive teenagers away. I feel like the bongo player in this Stan Freiburg skit below

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gNtdCsWhFic
Mr.Gumby

Re: Sweetening the high end

Post by Mr.Gumby »

Yes, a delicate touch helps a bit. Shading (some of the) open holes helps a bit too.

And ofcourse you have to realise the thing is right under your nose and it will sound less piercing when listened to from the other side.
My brain hurts

Reyburnwhistles