Holding the low whistle--lil help?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.

Do you use a thumbrest, neck strap or similar device to hold the whistle?

No! Tough it out!
85%
Yes they are heavy and awkward and it's good enough for clarinet players...
No votes
Sometimes, depends on the whistle
15%

Total votes: 20

PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Holding the low whistle--lil help?

Post by PB+J »

How many of you use a thumbrest?

I've been practicing steadily on the low whistle. Still a rank beginner, but people who don't know anything at all might be thinking I kind of know how to play. If I play Morrison's jig fast enough the mistakes just fly past...

Anyway I've gone from a really light Dixon plastic whistle to a Howard to now an MK "selkie," which is a great whistle but heavy. My left hand especially gets tired: I have an old table saw injury to that hand that might partly be the reason. On the other hand, the Howard used to feel heavy but now feels pretty effortless to hold.

I made a little slip-on ring out of PVC that works as a prototype. But I also feel like I should learn to play without it
Peter Duggan
Tell us something.: I'm not registering, I'm trying to edit my profile! The field “Tell us something.” is too short, a minimum of 100 characters is required.

Re: Holding the low whistle--lil help?

Post by Peter Duggan »

You need another poll option, which is just 'No' without the '! Tough it out!'

I don't use one, but wouldn't advise against their use where they might help. You can get easily-moved clip-on ones that should provide more support than your simple ring.
And we in dreams behold the Hebrides.

Master of nine?
BigBpiper