Cheap whistle vs expensive whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Cheap whistle vs expensive whistle

Post by PB+J »

I've been practicing hard on the whistle, especially the low whistle, and have come a log way in a short time, but of course have a long way to go.

I've got five inexpensive whistles and noticed significant differences between whistles in tone and playability. I have two Generations and one is unpleasant to play and the other sounds good, while the one Oak whistle I have plays well but the tone isn't as nice as the good Generation, etc etc. Some have a good first octave and a nasty second octave. Some clog up and get watery sounding quickly. Some are more in tune across the range than others.

I'm an experienced musician and build my own guitars and so I know two things: 1, a good player can sound good on just about any instrument, and 2, things that nag you about an instrument will keep nagging you even if you learn to play around them

So I'm wondering if it's worth it to buy an expensive whistle made by a small producer, someone who pays more attention to detail and produces a more consistent product. Like just buy a "good"whistle and stick with it. Or alternatively lots of good music is made of cheap whistles, so just be the guy who tries every Feadog in the store seeking the one good one that came off the line.

I'm just looking for opinions on spending up $200 for say a Milligan whistle, or a goldie, or 100 US or so for a Killarney. I understand different people like different things, but in general is spending the considerable extra dough for "good" whistle worth it?
BigBpiper