Am I in the right place for the type of music I want to play

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Faber0611
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am just starting out with the tin whistle and am here to learn as much as I can about the whistle and how to play. I am here to learn from the expertise of all the other members.

Am I in the right place for the type of music I want to play

Post by Faber0611 »

Is this forum strictly for playing Irish or Celtic music? While I wouldn't mind being able to play a jig, or something fun like that, I am learning the whistle to play Christian music and hymns. I feel the whistle really adds something moving to a hymn or piece of worship music. I'd like to learn from this forum and the expertise here, but want to make sure I am in the right place to do that. Thanks :)
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Re: Am I in the right place for the type of music I want to

Post by Nanohedron »

This forum is first about playing in general, and no one pursuit is considered the right one. But, it has to be said that the main topic trend here is toward Irish music and related. People do bring up church-related playing on occasion, but you don't see a lot of it in depth. Mainly we'd be here to help with playing issues, if nothing else. :)

But try it and see. Maybe you'll pull a few more out of the woodwork. :)
"If you take music out of this world, you will have nothing but a ball of fire." - Tribal musician
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »