Whistle Tuning

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Whistle Tuning

Post by AngelicBeaver »

So I've been playing a while, but mostly by myself. Lately, I've been trying to get into playing with a local session, which brings other instruments into the mix, and suddenly my whistles have to play nicely with others. Now, when I play a guitar or Ukulele, the tuning is pretty straightforward (tune the open strings to the proper pitch), but whistles being what they are, it doesn't seem to be so straightforward.

For example, I've got both a Goldie and MK low D, and to get them to play the low D right on pitch, I've got to pull the slides pretty far out, and that seems to be the case with most whistles. However, the first time I played with a few other people (one on an electric piano) I suddenly found that I had to shove the slides back in to about where they were when I received them, meaning they seem to play a bit sharp, but it seems to work. When I played a Feadog D (or any other Feadog), I noticed that they play very sharp for me, so I've got to pull the heads out.

To throw another wrench in the works, when I played my Goldie and MK side-by-side with my non-tuneable Chieftain V3, and even the V5, the Chieftains play much flatter, yet their low D is almost spot on, but while the V3 sounds fine in my session, it's really flat when I play along with the guy on the Expert whistle tutorial from OAIM.