Looking for a Whistle Recommendation...

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
moonlitnarwhal
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hello, I'm hoping to sell a pair of all-new bellows-blown Scottish Smallpipes. I'm hoping that I came to the right place.

Looking for a Whistle Recommendation...

Post by moonlitnarwhal »

Hello!

I'm pretty new to whistling and have been playing a Clarke Sweetone soprano D whistle for a little while and have really fallen in love with the sound and the music.

Anyway, I live in a wet tropical climate and notice that even with my best attempts to dry the whistle after playing, there is fairly substantial rust forming within the interior (after just a few months...). I was wondering if anyone here had any recommendations for a new whistle that fits the following constraints:

- under $50 US or so
- an all-metal body and mouthpiece (or at least not a plastic mouthpiece...)
- and non-steel (...are there all brass, copper, or nickel whistles out there in this price range and is there a general consensus on how these non-steel materials tend to sound?)

Finally, I really enjoy playing in the second and third octaves. With the points above in mind, are there any whistles that sound sweet in the higher realms? My Clarke does sound great playing most notes, but the high D in the second or third octave is painful to hear! This could certainly be my amateur technique, but I wondered if a lowered-keyed whistle would sound better in the high notes??

Thank you all for your time and recommendations and for your patience with my beginner questions! I'm so happy to have found this beautiful world of music! I'm learning to play Inisheer now and feel alive every time I practice...

Rich
Hilo, Hawaii
Chifmunk