Roy McManus: master craftsman and gentleman

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
seanpmoran
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I find it hard to believe too, but I have been playing the tin whistle for 52 years. My late father taught me when I was 6 years old. My favourite whistles are by Steve Harper and Hans Bracker.

Roy McManus: master craftsman and gentleman

Post by seanpmoran »

Roy McManus needs no recommendation from me (he already has plenty of celebrity endorsements from the likes of James Galway and Tony Hinnigan) but I feel inspired to post one anyway. I've never met Roy - it's a long way from Belfast to Tipperary - and have no connection with him apart from being a very happy customer. I've played high-end aluminium whistles for decades, and I've just started using wooden ones.

I recently bought two Bb whistles directly from Roy: one in African Blackwood and, because I liked it so much, I later ordered another one in Mopane. The craftsmanship is exemplary, and they are both a delight to play. I particularly enjoy the blackwood, which plays like a dream, but I'm sure that the mopane will be just as good once it is broken in. The latter is a bit louder and a tad brighter at the moment, but it may calm down with playing in.

Their rich tone and accurate intonation are very satisfying; cross fingering and half-holing work equally well. The top of the second octave takes a fair bit of 'push' on the mopane, but it isn't fair to judge it just yet. (By the way, I've found the B in the upper octave [actually a G on a Bb whistle, of course] is sweeter as XOO XXX, rather than the usual XOO OOO). They are incredibly responsive instruments. The tone can be varied by the way you blow them, and they take vibrato very nicely.