What is this low whistle please?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

What is this low whistle please?

Post by Mikethebook »

Take a look at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUmQgVIQsGg At first glance it looks like a Goldie but check out the holes? What is it and what key?
whistlecollector

Re: What is this low whistle please?

Post by whistlecollector »

Mikethebook wrote:Take a look at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUmQgVIQsGg At first glance it looks like a Goldie but check out the holes? What is it and what key?
Interesting. Could be tuning rings or (rather low) chimneys. Or simply decorative.

Couldn't find anything about the whistle itself, though I guess you could pop on down to London next month and ask? :D
-- A tin whistle a day keeps the racketts at bay.

-- WhOAD Survivor No. 11373
Mikethebook
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Post by Mikethebook »

Don't understand. Is Calum Stewart playing in London?
Tommy

Post by Tommy »