What tool to make a PVC tuning slide?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

What tool to make a PVC tuning slide?

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I've seen PVC whistles and flutes that fit together perfectly to form a tuning slide. What tool accomplishes this? I got a lathe for making fipple plugs, but can I use it to change the inside diameter of the pipe?
Nathaniel James Dowell
Tommy

Re: What tool to make a PVC tuning slide?

Post by Tommy »

AngelicBeaver wrote: I got a lathe for making fipple plugs, but can I use it to change the inside diameter of the pipe?
Yes a lathe is great for changing the ID of a tube. It can either be drilled or cut with a boring bar. There are many ways to set the lathe up. Do a search for how to use a boring bar and you will find a page with many pictures of differant set ups.

What kind of lathe do you have?
''Whistles of Wood'', cpvc and brass. viewtopic.php?f=1&t=69086
AngelicBeaver
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I got this one from Harbor Freight: https://www.harborfreight.com/5-speed-b ... 65345.html

I broke down and bought it after sanding on a Delrin rod for half an hour. Right as I was purchasing the Harbor Freight model, a guy accepted my offer on a Jet Mini for $250 (https://www.metalshoptools.com/products ... YWEALw_wcB.