I made my own whistle!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
whistlingman
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi I play the pennywhistle and also make my own. I'm not here to sell anything just want to show my whistles. I'm not a business, I'm a hobbyist!

I made my own whistle!

Post by whistlingman »

I just built my own penny whistle out of cpvc pipe. Previously I just made a body minus the mouthpiece. It goes through the full four octaves, quite shrill! I made the mouthpiece pretty much like a Clarke or shaw I would believe. It has the volume of a Walton's little black whistle, but not finicky. It has some breath to it. It is a little mellower until the four octaves and you can distinguish each note up that high too! If you do need the fourth octave well it is there! I'm going to see if I can make them out of aluminum pipe. But now I'm all out of spending money. blah.

Peter Duggan
Tell us something.: I'm not registering, I'm trying to edit my profile! The field “Tell us something.” is too short, a minimum of 100 characters is required.

Re: I made my own whistle!

Post by Peter Duggan »

Sure you're excited about what you've done, but four octaves? I've never seen or heard a whistle that can do four (some will just about do three, but two is the more normal 'useful' range) and believe what you claim is acoustically virtually impossible. So perhaps you've got something mixed up there?
And we in dreams behold the Hebrides.

Master of nine?
whistlingman
Tell us something.: Hi I play the pennywhistle and also make my own. I'm not here to sell anything just want to show my whistles. I'm not a business, I'm a hobbyist!

Post by whistlingman »