Low whistle in Eb?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Evahanna
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: At the moment I seek some advice regarding whistles - at this point, low whistles in particular. I am a musician/songwriter/singer with interest in scottish/irish folk music.

Low whistle in Eb?

Post by Evahanna »

Hello,

So... This is my first post on any forum, really. But I have been looking into buying a low whistle and thought I might seek some advise.

I have been playing the whistle for a little bit over a year and I am by no means a great player, but I feel like I might be ready to try out the low whistle by now.

So here's the thing: I would really like to have an Eb whistle, and I can't seem to find a lot of them out there - I know that the D is the "standard" key, but since I rarely play with others, and find that the Eb suites better with the key I prefer to sing with, I'd rather have one of these.

I'm unsure whether I should just go with a cheaper plastic-whistle to try it out first, or if I should invest in more of a quality instrument since I'm not even sure if I'll be able to play the whistle. Any suggestions? I'd prefer it to be not too loud, and I believe not too much of a hard-blower. Oh - and I don't have the option to try them out. If I'm lucky, the local music store can offer a feadog D if I ask them and it's still not much of a choice (that's what I did with my first whistle, and it's sadly awfully out of tune).

Well, I hope I did this correctly, please accept my apologize otherwise. Thank you!
tomcat
Tell us something.: Used to live in Gilbert, AZ which is a suburb of Phoenix. Recently moved to Portland OR. Argh. Not sure if this is meeting the requirement of number of characters, but I'm trying.

Re: Low whistle in Eb?

Post by tomcat »