Price, Skill and Sound

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Pondoro
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Want to learn the tin whistle. Looking for advice from those who have been playing a while. I played the recorder for about two years but that was 38 years ago.

Price, Skill and Sound

Post by Pondoro »

I bought a Clarke Sweetone maybe 12 years ago and started playing it just recently. As you may expect there are some shrieking sounds, and some are even from the whistle! Seriously - I know I am playing a cheap instrument. I know I am a complete beginner (though I played the recorder for two years, many moons ago.)

What is the trade off of practice eventually making a cheap whistle sound better, versus just ponying up the money for a better whistle. Would a $20 or $30 whistle sound better right off? Would they still sound annoying for several months as I break in? Is the $20-$30 price point no real improvement (i.e. until you get to $80 or $150, or whatever the sound doesn't change much?)

I'm sure there is controversy here, but I know nothing - so pour on your opinions.

Thanks!
Peter Duggan
Tell us something.: I'm not registering, I'm trying to edit my profile! The field “Tell us something.” is too short, a minimum of 100 characters is required.

Re: Price, Skill and Sound

Post by Peter Duggan »

Many great players play cheap whistles (though possibly not Sweetones) and some only cheap whistles. And, while some mid-priced and expensive whistles are superb, many offer little or no real improvement and even the best whistle in the world (whether it's cheap, mid-priced or crazy expensive) won't turn a beginner into an expert. So at this stage I'd say either stick with your Sweetone and learn to play it or get another (probably better) cheap whistle and learn to play that. Anything else is a waste and a red herring.
And we in dreams behold the Hebrides.

Master of nine?