My New Kerrywhistles Optima Fixed Low D Whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
mickey66
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a Professional Musician in Phx, Az. Lived in Calif(Hollywood) for about 10 years(1970's) working in the studios and on the road with stars of the day. Started to follow my roots which took me back to the old country and the Irish Tin Whistle. I wound up here on C&F forum!

My New Kerrywhistles Optima Fixed Low D Whistle

Post by mickey66 »

Hi All !
Phil Hardy (a very cool Guy) suggested I do a review of his Optima Low D whistles. First, I'm new to the Low D whistle! Having said that... i own two of them. I have a tune-able and a brand new Optima Fixed Low D. I like both of these whistles! However, there are quirks to these whistles and I don't think they are necessarily bad. I was surprised to find the Fixed Optima(clear smoke head) to be much louder than my tune-able red-top Optima Low D. The Collet/tuning slide dampens the sound at least on mine it does. So, if ya want to play late at night you can without under blowing said whistle.
The Fixed Optima Low D whistle on the other hand is not a quiet whistle at all! However, you can play it quietly. Next, tuning in the 1st octave on both whistles are spot-on(right out of the box in the 60 to 75 degree F range) except C# which is about 5 cents flat on both whistles. Doesn't take much air to blast these whistles to bring C#up to A440.