Most brilliant low whistle/flute albums in recent memory?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Most brilliant low whistle/flute albums in recent memory?

Post by AngelicBeaver »

Does anyone have any albums that they've heard within the last few years or so that they find to be truly amazing? I have a few that I love, but my selections are getting a bit old. My favorite albums are

Brian Finnegan's "The Lovely Genius of Bones"

Realta's "Open the Door for Three" (Brilliant mix of low whistles an Uillean Pipes, with a few songs thrown in).

Julie Fowlis and Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh did an album called "Dual" that is among my all-time favorites, even without much (or any) low whistling.

For me, a lot of trad music sort of blurs together in that it's nice, but forgettable. Every once in a while, an album comes around that fantastically sets itself apart and bears repeated listening for years. I'd like to add some new music to my collection, but it's hard to search by instrument, or even sift through the many albums that are in that "nicely played, but kind-of like all the other trad albums out there" category.
Nathaniel James Dowell
Mikethebook
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.