Looking to purchase a Low D whistle, advice sought re intona

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
foxmusician
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a composer and musician. I teach music and psychology at University of Hawaii Maui. You can find some examples of my music at foxnote.com. I have played sort of Celtic/folk for some time, notably with Michael Tanenbaum, with me on hammered dulcimer. I'm in the process of adding a Low D whistle, which is why I want to register.

Looking to purchase a Low D whistle, advice sought re intona

Post by foxmusician »

Hi folks,

I'm a long-time musician, and I make my own bamboo transverse flutes. I'd very much like to add a low d with a different sound. I saw the Burke low D played on America's Got Talent, and as embarrassing as it is to admit I watched a few episodes, I liked the sound of that whistle. I have also seen online posts saying less good stuff.

So here's the question- for a low D, what do you folks find to have the most unique sound (1) and very good intonation (2)? The intonation thing is a deal-breaker for me, if it's not precise. Tone is more subjective, but I like that dark sound trending toward uillean pipes. Ultimately a set of pipes is my goal, but the very Celtic sounding lw flutes might hold me over for a while.

Thank you for the help!
jadphoto
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Re: Looking to purchase a Low D whistle, advice sought re in

Post by jadphoto »

I've only heard good things about the Reyburn low whistles. I have two myself and absolutely love them.

One of mine is brass and the other is alloy. I thought I'd compare them and keep the one that I preferred. Well, I found the tone color so different between them that I can't bring myself to get rid of either.

I believe Renaldo offers a return privilege if you're not happy. You could check his web site to confirm that.